BLACK WEEKEND: 20% discount for you. 10 euro donation from us.*


*Valid from 25. to 29.11. Donation for an alpaca farm in the Ahr Valley. More information here.

Platzhalter

Our history

Natural, ethical and sustainable luxury. Traditional Peruvian craftsmanship combined with German quality promise. Learn more about the special story behind the start-up WEICH Couture Alpaca.

2009

The first encounter...

Jannik Weich had his formative encounter with the beauty of Peru at the age of 16, when he traveled to the country for the first time. Since then, he has been fascinated by the natural elegance and tenderness of the sustainable alpaca fiber. He still has a close bond with his former host family. Up till this day they accommodate him when he visits Peru.

2013

...is the beginning of a long journey

Discovery journey through a magical country: After graduating from high school, Jannik Weich travels through Peru for a few months to get to know the country, culture and language, but above all the people and their special connection to the friendly, affectionate alpaca animals. Their exceptionally fine fiber is the basis for the livelihood of many farmers in the Peruvian Andes. He is particularly impressed by the respect with which the farmers treat their animals and learns that none of the animals is harmed in the process of gaining their fur or wool.

2015

Two like-minded people get acquainted...

During a semester abroad on the west coast of California, Jannik meets his future friend and partner David Kuttschrütter. They not only share a passion for travel, but also the ambition to start their own business. When Jannik shares his experiences with Peru and his enthusiasm for alpaca with David, the spark ignites and the idea of a joint start-up becomes more concrete.

March 2017

…providing a basis for their start-up in Peru…

In the year between their Bachelor’s and Master’s studies, the starting signal was given for the unique story of WEICH Couture Alpaca. The company name is quickly found. It is the last name of one of the founders and at the same time the outstanding characteristic of our products. However, finding the manufactories and producers that match the values and demands of the founders requires extensive and personal research, the infrastructure in Peru and a high degree of adaptability and perseverance. On a trip through Peru in 2017, the founders extensively analyze the market and select the manufactory whose services fully meet their requirements for quality, sustainability and product understanding.

September 2017

...and found a unique start-up.

With the right manufactory, raw materials of the highest fiber quality and the guarantee that no animals are harmed before and in the process of fur production, the first prototypes are designed. In the former children’s room of Jannik Weich’s parents’ house, strategy and plans are worked out and the company logo is developed. Shortly before starting their master’s studies, Jannik Weich and David Kuttschrütter found the company WEICH Couture Alpaca – a new brand for a special, natural and sustainable luxury.

March 2019

The adventure in the Peruvian Andes

Back in Peru, the founders gain new inspiration and ideas for their product range at local fairs and markets, but also in personal exchanges with alpaca farmers. At an altitude of 5,000 meters, in the highlands of the Peruvian Andes and far from any civilization, they experience the unique challenges that humans and animals face in the harsh mountain landscapes. They gain authentic insights into the breeding and living conditions of the alpacas and personally convince themselves of the good and species-appropriate treatment of the animals.

September 2019

Investor Peter Pohlmann and WEICH Couture Alpaca

One of the most decisive steps in the still very young company history: The two founders are able to win Peter Pohlmann, founder of a well-known furniture store chain, as shareholder and strategic partner. The todays existing WEICH Textil GmbH is founded, the capital and strategic partnership are used to build brand awareness and open the first store. The rollout of the first accessories line takes place at the Maison & Objet in Paris, where the world’s unique WEICH hot water bottles with the most delicate alpaca wrapping are presented for the first time.

September 2020

Launch of the Living & Giving wool collection

WEICH Couture Alpaca expands its product range. After the launch of the home textiles and accessories collection made of alpaca fur, the first Living & Giving collection made of the most delicate Ultrafine Alpaca wool is designed and introduced. The start-up initially presented plaids in various designs with matching pillows, but also adds accessories such as scarves, hats and gloves for the winter. The basis for a successive expansion of the range has been created.

EN
EN

Unsere Geschichte

Natürlicher, ethisch unbedenklicher und nachhaltiger Luxus. Traditionelle peruanische Handwerkskunst vereint mit deutschem Qualitätsversprechen. Erfahren Sie mehr über die besondere Geschichte hinter dem Start-Up WEICH Couture Alpaca.

2009

Die erste Begegnung…

Die prägende Begegnung mit der Schönheit Perus hatte Jannik Weich im Alter von 16 Jahren, als er das Land zum ersten Mal bereiste. Seitdem ist er fasziniert von der natürlichen Eleganz und Zartheit der nachhaltigen Alpakafaser. Mit seiner damaligen Gastfamilie verbindet ihn eine enge Freundschaft. Sie beherbergt ihn bis heute, wann immer er Peru besucht.

2013

…der Beginn einer langen Reise

Entdeckungsreise durch ein magisches Land: Nach dem Abitur reist Jannik Weich für einige Monate durch Peru, um Land, Kultur und Sprache, vor allem aber die Menschen und ihre besondere Verbindung zu den freundlichen, sozialen Alpakatieren, kennenzulernen. Ihr außergewöhnlich feines Fell ist die Basis für den Lebensunterhalt vieler Bauern in den peruanischen Anden. Besonders beeindruckt ihn der Respekt, mit dem die Bauern ihre Tiere behandeln und er lernt, dass keinem der Tiere für die Fell- oder Wollgewinnung geschadet wird.

2015

Zwei Gleichgesinnte lernen sich kennen...

Während eines Auslandssemesters an der Westküste Kaliforniens lernt Jannik seinen zukünftigen Freund und Gründungspartner David Kuttschrütter kennen. Sie teilen nicht nur die Leidenschaft für das Reisen, sondern auch die Ambition, ein eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen. Als Jannik seine Erfahrungen mit Peru und seine Begeisterung für Alpaka mit David teilt, springt der Funke über und die Idee eines gemeinsamen Start-Ups wird konkreter.

MÄRZ 2017

... schaffen die Basis vor Ort in Peru...

Im Jahr zwischen Bachelor- und Masterstudium fällt dann der Startschuss für die einzigartige Geschichte von WEICH Couture Alpaca. Der Unternehmensname ist schnell gefunden. Es ist der Nachname eines der Gründer und gleichzeitig herausragende Eigenschaft unserer Produkte. Die zu den Werten und Ansprüchen der Gründer passenden Manufakturen und Produzenten zu finden erfordert jedoch ausgiebige und persönliche Recherche, die Infrastruktur in Peru ein hohes Maß an Anpassungsfähigkeit und Durchhaltevermögen. Auf einer Reise durch Peru im Jahr 2017 analysieren die Gründer ausgiebig den Markt und selektieren die Manufaktur, deren Leistungen ihren Ansprüchen an Qualität, Nachhaltigkeit und Produktverständnis vollständig entsprechen.

SEPTEMBER 2017

... und gründen ein einzigartiges Start-Up

Mit der passenden Manufaktur, Rohstoffen in höchster Faserqualität und der Garantie einer Produktion, die den Tieren vor und in der Fellgewinnung nicht schadet, werden erste Prototypen entworfen. Im ehemaligen Kinderzimmer des Elternhauses von Jannik Weich werden Strategie und Pläne ausgearbeitet und das Firmenlogo entwickelt. Kurz vor Beginn des Masterstudiums gründen Jannik Weich und David Kuttschrütter das Unternehmen WEICH Couture Alpaca – eine neue Marke für einen besonderen, natürlichen und nachhaltigen Luxus.

MÄRZ 2019

Das Abenteuer in den peruanischen Anden

Zurück in Peru, gewinnen die Gründer auf lokalen Messen und Märkten, aber auch im persönlichen Austausch mit Alpakabauern neue Inspirationen und Ideen für ihr Produktsortiment. Auf 5000 Metern Höhe, in den Hochländern der peruanischen Anden und fernab jeder Zivilisation, erleben sie die einzigartigen Herausforderungen, denen Mensch und Tier in den rauen Gebirgslandschaften ausgesetzt sind. Sie gewinnen authentische Einblicke in die Zucht und Lebensbedingungen der Alpakatiere und überzeugen sich persönlich vom guten und artgerechten Umgang mit den Tieren.

SEPTEMBER 2019

Investor Peter Pohlmann und WEICH Couture Alpaca

Einer der entscheidensten Schritte in der noch sehr jungen Firmengeschichte: Die beiden Gründer können Peter Pohlmann, Gründer einer bekannten Möbelhauskette, als Gesellschafter und strategischen Partner gewinnen. Die heutige WEICH Textil GmbH wird gegründet, das Kapital und die strategische Partnerschaft genutzt, um die Bekanntheit der Marke aufzubauen und den ersten Store zu eröffnen. Der Rollout der ersten Accessoires-Linie erfolgt im Rahmen der Maison & Objet in Paris, auf der erstmals auch die weltweit einzigartigen WEICH-Wärmflaschen mit zartester Alpaka-Umhüllung präsentiert werden.

SEPTEMBER 2020

Launch der Living & Giving Wool Collection

WEICH Couture Alpaca erweitert das Produktangebot. Nach Heimtextilien und Accessoires aus Alpakafell wird die erste Living & Giving Kollektion aus zartester Ultrafine Alpaca-Wolle entworfen und eingeführt. Dabei stellt das Start-Up zunächst Plaids in verschiedenen Ausführungen mit den dazu passenden Kissen, aber auch Accessoires, wie Schals, Mützen und Handschuhe für den Winter, vor. Die Basis für eine sukzessive Erweiterung des Sortiments ist geschaffen.

Deutsch